The senate is one of the highest organizational bodies in the university. Its most important tasks are passing the statute, approving the curricula, participating in habilitation and appeals proceedings as well as making second instance decisions regarding study matters.

The Senate is an expert body of the institution which decides on all expert issues of the institute. The Chairman of the institution is the President of the institution. Members of the Senate are appointed by the Academic Assembly for a period of two years or until the appointment of a new Chairman. Members of the Senate were appointed by the Academic Assembly in January 2015 as below:


Professor Ludvik Toplak, PhD


  • Professor Ludvik Toplak, PhD, Social Sciences, Law and Economy
  • Associate professor Jurij Toplak, PhD, Administration Law
  • Assistant professor Danica Železnik, PhD, Health Sciences
  • Mladen Herc, Health Sciences
  • Professor Zmago Turk, Phd, Health Science
  • Professor Mara Ovsenik, PhD, Social Gerontology
  • Professor Peter Pavel Klasinc, Phd, Archives and Records Management
  • Professor Mario Plenković, PhD, Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Professor Nadja Plazar, Phd, Natural Sciences
  • Academician Professor Božo Kralj, PhD, Medical and Health Sciences
  • Lidija Ribič, student of Social Gerontology
  • Leon Šerbak, student of Physiotherpay
  • Maja Štager, student of Social Gerontology